Our Top Picks
HP Chromebook 15 15.6" Laptop64GB eMMC+128GB SD Card14.28 x 9.51 x 0.71 inches3.3 PoundsCheck on Amazon
HP 14" HD Chromebook Laptop for StudentsN4120|64GB eMMC12.85 x 8.94 x 0.72 inches3.35 poundsCheck on Amazon
The best Chromebook for most people is one with 8GB of RAM, a Full HD or better IPS screen and at least 64GB of storage, and among the nine listings here the two Lenovo Chromebook m models come closest on paper. That does not make them the right buy for everyone, because a student’s backpack machine and a couch browser are different jobs. Every spec below comes from the listing titles, which are seller claims, and anything missing is marked “check the listing.” Use the table to shortlist, then read the entries for your finalists.
Top picks at a glance
Lenovo Flagship Chromebook, 14'' FHD Touchscreen Slim Thin Light Laptop Computer, 8-Core MediaTek Kompanio 520 Processor, 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC, WiFi 6,Chrome OS, Abyss Blue
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Dell Chromebook 11 3100 11.6" Chromebook - 1366 x 768 - Celeron N4020-4 GB RAM - 16 GB Flash Memory - Chrome OS - Intel HD Graphics - English (US) Keyboard - Bluetooth (Renewed)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
HP Chromebook 15 15.6" Laptop, Intel N200, 8GB DDR5 RAM, 192GB Storage | 64GB eMMC + 128GB SD Card, Numeric Keyboard, Anti-Glare, Home & Students, Webcam w/Shutter, Long Battery Life, Chrome OS
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Lenovo Chromebook m 15" - Everyday Laptop - Google Gemini - MediaTek Kompanio 540 CPU - 15.3" WUXGA IPS Display - 8GB RAM - 128GB UFS Storage - Integrated Arm Mali-G57 MC2 GPU - Luna Grey
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
HP 14" HD Chromebook Laptop for Students, Intel Quad-Core N4120(> N4020), 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC, WiFi, Webcam, HDMI, USB-A&C, 14 Hours Battery Life, Zoom, Chrome OS, CUE Accessories
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
HP Chromebook 14 Laptop, Intel Celeron N4120, 4 GB RAM, 64 GB eMMC, 14" HD Display, Chrome OS, Thin Design, 4K Graphics, Long Battery Life, Ash Gray Keyboard (14a-na0226nr, 2022, Mineral Silver)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Acer Chromebook 15.6" FHD 1080p Laptop, 2026 Edition, Dual-Core Intel Celeron Processor, 64GB Storage, Sleeve, WiFi 6, 10-Hour Battery, Glare-Reducing Webcam, for Education, K12 & Everyday Use
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Lenovo Chromebook m 14" - Everyday Laptop - Google Gemini - MediaTek Kompanio 540 CPU - 14" WUXGA IPS Display - 8GB RAM - 64GB UFS Storage - Integrated Arm Mali-G57 MC2 GPU - Cosmic Blue
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
HP 14 2-in-1 Chromebook 14in FHD Intel CPU 4GB 64GB Storage (14b-Renewed)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
| Model | Key point from title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lenovo Flagship Chromebook 14″ | FHD touchscreen, Kompanio 520, 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC | Mid-range | Touch-first everyday use |
| Dell Chromebook 11 3100 (Renewed) | 11.6″, Celeron N4020, 4GB RAM, 16GB flash | Budget | Spare or secondary device |
| HP Chromebook 15 (Intel N200) | 15.6″, 8GB DDR5, 64GB eMMC plus 128GB SD card | Premium | Big screen and number pad |
| Lenovo Chromebook m 15″ | 15.3″ WUXGA IPS, 8GB RAM, 128GB UFS | Premium | Heavy multitaskers |
| HP 14″ HD Chromebook | Quad-core N4120 claim, 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC | Budget | Students on a budget |
| HP Chromebook 14 (14a-na0226nr) | Celeron N4120, 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC, 14″ HD | Budget | Basic browsing and homework |
| Acer Chromebook 15.6″ FHD | Dual-core Celeron, 64GB, WiFi 6, sleeve | Mid-range | Classroom or home use |
| Lenovo Chromebook m 14″ | 14″ WUXGA IPS, 8GB RAM, 64GB UFS | Mid-range | All-round value |
| HP 14 2-in-1 Chromebook (Renewed) | 14″ FHD, 4GB, 64GB, convertible | Mid-range | Flexible tablet-style use |
What is changing in the Chromebook category
Reading this set as a whole shows how Chromebook listings are shifting, though these are observations about titles, not sales data. The first is the move away from 11.6 inch, 1366 x 768 screens toward 14 inch and larger Full HD or WUXGA panels. Only the Dell listing here is still on the older small-screen format.
Second, RAM and storage are creeping up. Several titles state 8GB and storage types such as UFS, which is generally faster than eMMC, along with larger capacities. Third, MediaTek and recent Intel processors appear alongside older Celeron parts, so the processor name matters more than the brand when you compare.
Fourth, titles lean on AI and assistant language, with “Google Gemini” appearing in the Lenovo Chromebook m listings. Treat it as a feature to verify on the listing, not a performance spec. Fifth, the market is crowded with third-party sellers and renewed units, and two listings here carry Renewed in the title. Finally, education branding is common, with phrases such as “for students” and “K12” in titles.
Shoppers should also keep in mind that Chromebooks receive software updates for a limited period set by Google for each model, which is one reason older or renewed units deserve a check.
How we picked these nine
We read each title and compared processor, RAM, storage type, display and size, then grouped the listings by use. We kept the ones whose titles give enough specifics to compare. Ratings and review counts are left out because they change daily, and price tiers are relative to this set rather than exact dollar figures. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Titles are seller claims, and some contain unclear wording that we flag in the entries.
The nine listings, one by one
Lenovo Flagship Chromebook, 14-inch FHD touchscreen
The title names a 14 inch FHD touchscreen, a slim and light design, an 8-core MediaTek Kompanio 520 processor, 4GB of RAM, 64GB eMMC storage, WiFi 6 and Chrome OS, in Abyss Blue. It sits in the mid-range tier. The touchscreen and Full HD panel are the draws, and 4GB is the limit.
It suits a user who wants touch input for apps and reading and who mostly keeps a few tabs open. Scenario: a college student writes in documents, watches lectures and swipes through PDFs. Anyone who keeps many tabs open or joins long video calls may find 4GB tight, a general observation not a model-specific claim.
The eight-core MediaTek chip is a different design from the Intel Celeron parts in several other listings, so do not assume the core count alone predicts speed; processor families are built for different workloads. Touchscreens also add a layer of glass that can pick up fingerprints and glare, which matters if you work near a window.
- Pro: FHD touchscreen and WiFi 6 named.
- Pro: 64GB of storage is workable for a web-first device.
- Con: 4GB of RAM limits heavy multitasking.
- Con: eMMC storage is slower than UFS.
Check the listing for the weight, battery life, port selection and whether the seller offers a warranty. Question to ask before buying: will 4GB be enough for how many tabs I really keep open?
Dell Chromebook 11 3100, renewed
This is the smallest and cheapest listing. The title names an 11.6 inch 1366 x 768 display, Celeron N4020, 4GB of RAM, 16GB of flash memory, Intel HD Graphics, Bluetooth, a US English keyboard and the word Renewed. At the lowest tier, it is a refurbished machine, so condition and warranty matter more than usual.
It suits a spare device, a kid’s first laptop under supervision, or a travel backup. Scenario: a family keeps it by the kitchen for recipes and video calls. The 16GB storage is very small, since Chrome OS and apps take space, so rely on cloud storage and plan around it.
Because the title includes a US English keyboard, the layout should suit American typists, though it is worth confirming in the photos. A small 11.6 inch body also means a cramped keyboard for adult hands, so consider typing comfort if you plan on long sessions.
- Pro: Lowest cost in the set, compact size.
- Pro: 4GB RAM is workable for light use.
- Con: 16GB of storage and a 1366 x 768 screen are limiting.
- Con: Renewed condition and update lifetime are unconfirmed.
Check the listing for the refurbisher’s warranty, battery condition, return window and the model’s Auto Update Expiration date. Question to ask before buying: how many years of updates are left on this exact model?
HP Chromebook 15, Intel N200, 8GB, with SD card
The seller listed here is “ist computers,” not HP itself. The title names a 15.6 inch laptop, Intel N200, 8GB DDR5 RAM, and 192GB of storage described as 64GB eMMC plus a 128GB SD card, plus a numeric keyboard, anti-glare screen, webcam shutter and long battery life. Note that 128GB is on a card, not internal.
It suits someone who wants a big screen and a number pad for spreadsheets, and who values 8GB. Scenario: a home office worker does budgeting and email on a Chromebook and keeps files on the card. SD cards are slower than internal storage, and they can be lost, so back up anything important.
The numeric keypad and anti-glare finish point toward desk work, and the webcam shutter appeals to privacy-minded users. A 15.6 inch body is bulkier to carry, so it fits a home or office better than a daily commute.
- Pro: 8GB of DDR5 RAM and a numeric keypad.
- Pro: Webcam shutter and anti-glare finish, per the title.
- Con: Extra storage is an SD card, not internal.
- Con: Third-party seller configuration, so support may vary.
Check the listing for the display resolution, weight, who handles warranty and whether the card is included in the box. Question to ask before buying: who provides support if something fails, the seller or HP?
Lenovo Chromebook m, 15.3-inch WUXGA
The title lists a 15.3 inch WUXGA IPS display, MediaTek Kompanio 540, 8GB RAM, 128GB UFS storage and an integrated Arm Mali-G57 MC2 GPU, plus a mention of Google Gemini, in Luna Grey. It has the largest storage figure of any internal drive here and the highest price tier alongside the HP 15.
It suits someone who wants a roomy, taller-than-1080p workspace and the memory to keep many tabs open. Scenario: a remote worker runs email, a document, a chat app and a video call at once. The Gemini wording is a feature to verify, and the title does not describe how it works.
WUXGA is a taller resolution than standard Full HD, which gives more vertical room for documents and web pages. An IPS panel is generally associated with wider viewing angles, and the Arm Mali graphics unit is integrated, so do not expect it to replace a gaming laptop.
- Pro: 8GB RAM and 128GB UFS storage.
- Pro: Large WUXGA IPS display named.
- Con: Highest tier in the set.
- Con: Weight and battery life are not in the title.
Check the listing for battery claims, ports, keyboard layout and the AI features. Question to ask before buying: do I need a 15.3 inch screen enough to carry the extra size?
HP 14-inch HD Chromebook for students
This listing names a 14 inch HD display, “Intel Quad-Core N4120(> N4020),” 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC, WiFi, a webcam, HDMI, USB-A and USB-C ports, 14 hours of battery, Zoom and “CUE Accessories.” The processor text is unusual; the “> N4020” fragment reads like a comparison to another chip, not a clear spec, so it should be verified.
It suits a student who needs ports for a projector and a long school day. Scenario: a middle-school class has a presentation, so HDMI is handy. Our guide to Chromebooks for students goes further into classroom needs. The 14 hour battery figure is a seller claim and real life usually differs.
The bundle language, “CUE Accessories,” suggests extras are included, but the title does not say what they are. Bundles can pad a price, so compare the cost with the same model sold alone if you can find it, and decide whether you want the extras at all.
- Pro: HDMI and both USB-A and USB-C are named.
- Pro: Budget tier, with 64GB of storage.
- Con: HD (not Full HD) display and 4GB RAM.
- Con: Ambiguous processor wording and bundled accessories.
Check the listing for exact processor name, what the accessories are and the seller’s warranty. Question to ask before buying: is the processor an N4120, as the title implies, or is that an error?
HP Chromebook 14 (14a-na0226nr)
The title gives a model number, a Celeron N4120, 4GB RAM, 64GB eMMC, a 14 inch HD display, thin design, long battery life and “4K Graphics,” in Mineral Silver with an Ash Gray keyboard. The “4K Graphics” phrase is ambiguous: the screen is HD, so it may refer to the ability to output or play higher-resolution video, which you should verify. The title also mentions a 2022 version, which suggests an older model.
It suits a budget buyer who wants a plain, thin laptop for homework and streaming. Scenario: a parent buys a backup for a teen’s schoolwork. Age matters because older Chromebooks reach their Auto Update Expiration date sooner.
Having the exact model number is an advantage, because you can search for the manufacturer support page and the update schedule for that model instead of guessing. The thin design and light feel are claimed, but the title gives no weight in pounds or kilograms.
- Pro: Specific model number helps you research it.
- Pro: 64GB of storage and a thin body.
- Con: Older platform; the update window may be shorter.
- Con: “4K Graphics” is unclear next to an HD screen.
Check the listing for the Auto Update Expiration date and what “4K Graphics” means. Question to ask before buying: how many years of software updates does this model have left?
Acer Chromebook 15.6-inch FHD
The title names a 15.6 inch Full HD screen, a dual-core Intel Celeron, 64GB of storage, a sleeve, WiFi 6, a 10 hour battery claim and a glare-reducing webcam, aimed at education, K12 and everyday use. The RAM is not stated, which is a significant gap, and the title includes an edition label for a particular year.
It suits a family that wants a large screen and the included sleeve for school. Scenario: a student carries it to class in the supplied sleeve. Without the RAM figure, treat the performance as unknown until the listing confirms it. Our Chromebooks for kids guide covers durability and safety features that matter for younger users.
The glare-reducing webcam and Full HD panel suit video lessons, and a 10 hour battery claim would cover a school day if it holds up. The title leaves out RAM and the exact processor, so ask the seller or read the full listing before treating it as comparable to the 8GB models.
- Pro: Full HD 15.6 inch display and WiFi 6.
- Pro: Sleeve included, per the title.
- Con: RAM is not stated.
- Con: Dual-core Celeron suggests basic performance.
Check the listing for RAM, storage type, weight and the exact processor. Question to ask before buying: if the RAM is 4GB, is that enough for my use?
Lenovo Chromebook m, 14-inch WUXGA
The title lists a 14 inch WUXGA IPS display, Kompanio 540, 8GB RAM, 64GB UFS, an integrated Arm Mali-G57 MC2 GPU and a Google Gemini mention, in Cosmic Blue. It is the clearest all-rounder on paper: more memory than most, faster storage type, and a mid-range tier.
It suits a general-purpose buyer, such as a student or remote worker who wants 8GB without paying for the biggest screen. Scenario: a commuter keeps documents, a music stream and a chat app open on a train. Storage is 64GB, so lean on cloud storage for large files.
Compared with the Flagship listing, it trades a touchscreen mention for double the RAM and faster storage, which many people will prefer for everyday multitasking. Compared with the 15.3 inch sibling, it halves the storage but is easier to carry.
- Pro: 8GB RAM with UFS storage.
- Pro: WUXGA IPS panel at a mid-range tier.
- Con: 64GB of storage is not large.
- Con: No battery or weight numbers in the title.
Check the listing for battery claims, ports and whether the AI features need a subscription. Question to ask before buying: is 64GB enough with cloud storage?
HP 14 2-in-1 Chromebook, renewed
This is the sparsest title: HP 14 2-in-1 Chromebook, 14 inch FHD, “Intel CPU,” 4GB, 64GB storage and “14b-Renewed.” The processor is not named, which makes comparison difficult, and Renewed means a previously used unit. The 2-in-1 label suggests a convertible hinge.
It suits someone who wants a flip-style device for reading, presenting or drawing and is comfortable with a refurbished unit. Scenario: a teacher folds it flat to show slides to a small group. The missing processor name and renewed status are reasons to read the listing closely.
Convertible hinges are mechanical parts, so inspect photos and ask about condition on a used unit. Renewed grades vary, so look for a stated grade or checklist, a battery condition note and a clear return window before you commit.
- Pro: 2-in-1 flexibility and an FHD display.
- Pro: 64GB storage at a mid-range tier.
- Con: Processor not named, and 4GB of RAM.
- Con: Renewed condition varies by seller.
Check the listing for the CPU, touchscreen support, warranty and update expiration. Question to ask before buying: does the renewed price justify the unknown processor?
Buying guide: matching a Chromebook to your day
Touchscreen, tablet and standard designs
A standard clamshell is lighter, cheaper and simpler. A touchscreen suits apps and reading, and a 2-in-1 adds tablet and tent modes at the cost of weight and price. If you rarely touch the screen, skip the extra cost.
Chromebook Plus versus a standard Chromebook
Chromebook Plus models follow Google’s higher hardware minimums, such as more memory and storage and a better display, and generally add extra features. None of these titles claims Plus status. A standard model is enough for browser-first work, while Plus suits power users. If you want that tier, search specifically for models that Google lists as Plus.
RAM, storage type and capacity
RAM is usually soldered, so choose enough up front. 4GB is workable for light use; 8GB gives headroom for tabs, calls and Android apps. UFS storage is generally faster than eMMC, and capacity of 64GB or more is comfortable for a web-first device. An SD card adds space but is not a substitute for internal storage.
Screen size and resolution
The 11.6 inch 1366 x 768 display is the smallest and lowest-resolution here. FHD and WUXGA panels in the 14 inch range give more room for documents. Larger 15 inch screens help with spreadsheets but add weight, and IPS panels generally offer wider viewing angles than basic panels.
Battery, ports and durability
Battery hours in titles are seller claims. Look for USB-C charging, a USB-A port for older accessories and HDMI for projectors. For younger users, check build quality and the warranty. The kids Chromebook guide goes into spill resistance and parental controls.
Keyboard, trackpad and webcam
You will touch the keyboard and trackpad more than any spec on the list, yet titles say little about them. Photos can show key size, backlighting and whether a number pad is present, as with the HP Chromebook 15. For video calls, look for a webcam resolution on the listing, since “webcam” alone could mean a basic sensor. A physical shutter, as named in one HP title, is a simple privacy feature. If you write a lot, favor a 14 inch or larger body with a full-size layout over the 11.6 inch format.
Updates, renewed units and school or work accounts
Every Chromebook model has an Auto Update Expiration date set by Google, after which security updates stop. Check it for any older or renewed device. Managed school or work accounts may also restrict what you can install, so confirm with the administrator before buying.
Worked example: tabs, calls and storage
Assumptions, all rough estimates: you keep 15 tabs open, run a video call and edit a document. If the system and background services use roughly 1.5GB, and each active tab averages around 150MB, tabs alone take about 2.25GB, and the call and document add more, so a 4GB machine will be near its limit. An 8GB machine leaves comfortable room. For storage, assume 15GB for the system and apps and 10GB of downloaded files, which is why 16GB feels cramped and 64GB leaves room.
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| RAM | 8GB for heavy tabs, 4GB for light use | Usually cannot be upgraded later |
| Storage type | UFS over eMMC where possible | Affects speed of apps and updates |
| Display | FHD or WUXGA IPS | Sharper text and wider viewing angles |
| Processor | Named chip, not just “Intel CPU” | Lets you research real performance |
| Update support | Model’s Auto Update Expiration | Determines how long it stays secure |
Mistakes buyers make
The first mistake is paying for a bigger screen but accepting 4GB of RAM when you run many tabs. Second, ignoring update dates, especially on older or renewed units. Third, treating SD cards as internal storage. Fourth, trusting unclear titles: the HP 14 HD “N4120(> N4020)” wording and the HP 14a “4K Graphics” phrase need verifying. Fifth, skipping the warranty when buying from third-party sellers. Sixth, assuming a touchscreen is worth it when you only type. Finally, forgetting that school or work accounts can restrict what you install. Write down your must-haves, such as RAM, ports and size, before you shop.
Verdict by use case
Best all-round on paper: Lenovo Chromebook m 14, with 8GB and UFS storage. Heavy multitasking and big screen: Lenovo Chromebook m 15, or HP Chromebook 15 if you want the number pad. Students on a budget: HP 14 HD or HP Chromebook 14, once you confirm update dates. Touch and light use: Lenovo Flagship. Flexible reading and presenting: HP 14 2-in-1, with the renewed caveats. Large screen for school: Acer, after confirming the RAM. Spare device: Dell Chromebook 11, given its small storage.
Questions people ask
How much RAM do I need in a Chromebook?
For light browsing, documents and streaming, 4GB can work, and many listings here, including the Lenovo Flagship, HP 14 and Dell Chromebook 11, offer 4GB. If you keep many tabs open, join video calls or run Android and Linux apps, 8GB gives more headroom, and the Lenovo Chromebook m, HP Chromebook 15 listings state 8GB. RAM cannot be upgraded later on most Chromebooks, so choose for the way you work today and a bit beyond.
Is a touchscreen or 2-in-1 Chromebook worth it?
It depends on how you use the device. A touchscreen helps with tablet-style apps, sketching and quick scrolling, and a 2-in-1 hinge lets you fold it flat for reading or presenting. The cost is usually weight, price and battery drain. The Lenovo Flagship lists a touchscreen and the HP 14 2-in-1 lists a convertible design. If you mostly type and browse, a standard laptop style is simpler and often lighter.
What is a Chromebook Plus, and do I need one?
Chromebook Plus is a Google program that sets minimum hardware levels, such as more memory, more storage and a better display, for a smoother experience. None of the titles here claims Chromebook Plus status, so check Google’s current list and the listing before assuming. If your work is browser tabs and documents, a standard model can be enough; if you want extra speed and features, look at Plus-labeled models.
Is eMMC storage a problem?
eMMC is a slower, lower-cost kind of flash storage found in several budget listings here. It works for a browser-based computer, but it can feel slower to open apps and handle updates than the UFS storage named in the Lenovo Chromebook m titles. Capacity matters too, with 16GB very tight and 64GB comfortable for most web-first use. An SD card, as in the HP Chromebook 15 listing, adds space but is not the same as internal storage.
Should I buy a renewed Chromebook?
It can save money, but read the listing carefully. The Dell Chromebook 11 and HP 14 2-in-1 titles say Renewed, which means a previously owned unit that has been refurbished. Check the seller’s warranty and return window, the battery condition and the device’s Auto Update Expiration date, which Google publishes by model, because an older model may stop receiving updates sooner. Renewed units suit low-risk uses such as a spare device.
Can a Chromebook replace a Windows laptop?
For many people, yes: web apps, documents, streaming, video calls and Android apps cover a lot. It is a weaker fit if you rely on desktop-only software, specialized engineering or design tools, or certain games. Check which programs you need and whether web versions exist. If you are unsure, list your top five apps and look for Chrome OS or web equivalents before buying.

Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!